How has Pennsylvania voted in presidential elections?

During the first presidential election in 1789, Pennsylvania was allotted 15 electoral votes. In 2016, the most recent election, the state was allotted 20. The next presidential election in Pennsylvania, coinciding with the national election, is scheduled for November 3, 2020.

Ohio kept its streak of voting for the winner (a bellwether state) since 1964, as it voted for Trump, who won nationally. Ohio was an unprecedented 10.2% more Republican than the national average in 2016, the farthest it had voted from the rest of the nation since 1932.

is PA a swing state? Election analytics website FiveThirtyEight identifies the states of Colorado, Florida, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and Wisconsin as “perennial” swing states that have regularly seen close contests over the last few presidential campaigns.

People also ask, when was the last time Pennsylvania voted Republican?

Pennsylvania has swung from being a Republican-leaning state during much of the 20th century to being a notable battleground state in presidential elections. Pennsylvania has backed the Democratic presidential candidate in every election since 1992 up until 2016, when it was won by Republican candidate Donald Trump.

Which state has always voted for the winning president?

The Missouri bellwether is a political phenomenon that notes that the state of Missouri voted for the winner in all but three U.S. Presidential elections from 1904 to 2016 (the exceptions are 1956, 2008 and 2012).

How many votes did Trump win by in Pennsylvania?

The Republican party candidate was businessman and former host of The Apprentice (an American reality television program), Donald Trump, who won Pennsylvania by 44,292 votes out of more than six million cast, a difference of 0.72% and the narrowest margin in a presidential election for the state in 176 years, since

How much did Trump win Florida by?

Elected President The 2016 United States presidential election in Florida was won by Donald Trump on November 8, 2016, with a plurality of 49.0% of the popular vote that included a 1.2% winning margin over Hillary Clinton, who had 47.8% of the vote.

Is Ohio a Republican state or democratic?

The Ohio Congressional Delegation is mostly Republican as well; twelve representatives are Republicans while four are Democrats. Politics of Ohio. Year Republican Democratic 2016 51.69% 2,841,005 43.56% 2,394,164 2012 47.60% 2,661,437 50.58% 2,827,709 2008 46.80% 2,677,820 51.38% 2,940,044 2004 50.81% 2,859,768 48.71% 2,741,167

Which states voted for Donald Trump?

Trump won six states that Democrat Barack Obama had won in 2012: Florida, Iowa, Michigan, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Wisconsin. Ultimately, Trump received 304 electoral votes and Clinton 227, as two faithless electors defected from Trump and five defected from Clinton.

Is Michigan Democrat?

Political party strength in Michigan. The tables below indicate the political party affiliation of elected officials in the U.S. State of Michigan from statehood through March 2018. The parties are indicated as follows: Democratic (D), Republican (R), and Whig (W), with purple designating a tie between two parties.

What happens if a candidate doesn’t get 270?

What happens if no presidential candidate gets 270 electoral votes? If no candidate receives a majority of electoral votes, the Presidential election leaves the Electoral College process and moves to Congress. The Senate elects the Vice President from the 2 Vice Presidential candidates with the most electoral votes.

Is Alaska red or blue?

Although Alaska entered the union as a Democratic state, since the early 1960s Alaska has been characterized as Republican-leaning.

How many electoral votes is Florida?

Currently, there are 538 electors; based on 435 representatives, 100 senators from the fifty states and three electors from Washington, D.C. The six states with the most electors are California (55), Texas (38), New York (29), Florida (29), Illinois (20), and Pennsylvania (20).

Has any president won all 50 states?

A president has won every state three times: in 1788 and 1792, George Washington won all the electoral votes running effectively unopposed, and in 1820, James Monroe, running unopposed, carried all twenty-three states in the union at that time (although one electoral vote was cast for John Quincy Adams and two electors

What states usually vote Democrat?

New York, Washington, Massachusetts, Oregon, Hawaii, and Rhode Island (and Wisconsin before 2016) have voted Democratic since Ronald Reagan’s landslide in 1984. One of these states, Minnesota, has not been carried by a Republican presidential candidate since 1972.

Has California ever voted for a Republican president?

California was a Republican stronghold in presidential elections from 1952 until 1992. During this period, the Republicans won California in every election except the election of 1964. Since then however, the Democrats have carried the electoral rich state since 1992.

What state has voted Republican the most?

Wyoming was the most Republican state, with 59% of residents identifying as Republican, and only 25% of residents identifying as Democrat.

Is Indiana a red or blue state?

Arguably, this eventually proved to be somewhat true, but not in McCain’s favor as Obama won three “red” states that had not voted Democratic in many years, namely Virginia, North Carolina, and Indiana along with a part of deep red Nebraska, via the state’s (much less conservative as a whole) second congressional

When did Texas vote Democrat?

The last time Texas voted for a Democratic candidate was the 1976 Presidential election when Jimmy Carter won 51.14% of the popular vote.